The Ashington Branch of the Royal British Legion and the staff at Ashington Town Council have now finalised arrangements for the Remembrance Day Service and Parade on Sunday, 13 November.

The Parade will set off from the Royal British Legion HQ on North Seaton Road at 10.15am prompt.  John Simpson, the British Legion’s Poppy Appeal organiser, said “Remembrance Day has always been a major event in the calendar for us.  This year is the Poppy Appeal’s 90th Anniversary and is extra special because it is a once-in-a-lifetime Remembrance Day.  The entire country will remember those who were willing to lay down their lives for their country during a two minute silence at 11o’clock on the 11th day of the 11th month in year 2011”. He added “The Ashington Remembrance Sunday Parade is always well attended by local people, demonstrating the genuine pride and respect they have for members of Her Majesty’s Armed Forces past and present, and I have no doubt that they will turn out in large numbers again this year.”

The Parade will be lead by Wansbeck’s Ashington Colliery Brass Band and serving members of Her Majesty’s Armed Forces.  Mr Ian McArthur, Deputy Lieutenant of Northumberland, will march behind the Standard Bearers alongside veterans from the Royal British Legion, ex-servicemen, Ashington Town Council members and staff, Wansbeck’s MP and other local civic dignitaries.Anyone wishing to take part should assemble outside the Royal British Legion Headquarters at 10.00am. the parade will march north along North Seaton Road, west on Station Road and into the Library Gardens on Kenilworth Road, where there will be a short service at the War Memorial.

Poppy wreaths will be laid by the Deputy Lieutenant of the County, the Mayor of Ashington, the MP for Wansbeck, representatives from each of the Armed Forces and many other organisations.  Members of the public will also have the opportunity to lay wreaths and poppy crosses in remembrance of loved ones who lost their lives whilst serving in Her Majesty’s Armed Forces.

photo:Monika Tkaczyk